Got a question? Check Computing's Wiki: answers from the coal face.
Bath Spa Google Apps email - your inbox, your archive and your deleted email
When email arrives, your account gives it the labels 'Inbox' and 'Unread'.
Mail arrives into your inbox. There, as well as being labelled 'Inbox', it's labelled as 'Unread' (until you read it). When you use the 'Archive' button, this removes the 'Inbox' label so the message disappears from your inbox folder - you've not deleted the message - it's still to be found in the 'All mail' folder.
You, or a rule that you set up, can move email on from your inbox, e.g. into 'All mail'.
When you delete messages, they're given a 'Bin' label - when they're 30 days old, they'll be deleted permanently.
Items of email can appear in more than one 'Gmail' folder - for example, the 'All mail' folder displays just that. Here's how Gmail's folders work, it's useful to understand this.
All before you, in this world, is smoke and shadows.All before you, in this world, is smoke and shadows. Words found on a door lintel in the garden of a house in the Cretan village of Argiroupolis. The lintel is a fragment from the city state Lappa, which occupied the same site. Fifteen hundred years later, when you use the web, from time to time you might well feel that the author was on to something. And if you work with particle physics, you'll know he was ...